9 Valuable Lessons Gained From Chronic Illness

Nine valuable lessons that have shaped my life

9 Valuable Lessons Gained From Chronic Illness

Going into my sixth year living with a chronic illness, I consider myself experienced in meeting the challenges imposed by chronic illness. The term “chronic illness” doesn’t bother me and I no longer see my illnesses as a burden. Rather, I view them as a determinant of who I can become. Further, how I choose to cope determines the lessons I gain and how those lessons shape my very existence.

Here are nine valuable lessons that have shaped my life over the last six years.

Enjoy Life Even When It Hurts

There have been many occasions where I just didn’t feel motivated to follow through on plans with friends and family. But when I forced myself to get out and push past the pain, I was glad I got to enjoy that time and to make those memories. And yes, it is true that we should take care of ourselves — and there will be plenty of plans that do get cancelled — but we shouldn’t make canceling plans the norm. If you are going to be in pain, you might as well do the things you enjoy to help you forget. Trust me, your mind, body and soul will thank you.

I am Not Lazy

Getting the rest I need doesn’t make me lazy. If anything, it is a reminder that I am chronically ill. I deal with fogginess, fatigue, and pain daily and these symptoms force me to rest and conserve my energy. There have been times where I have pushed myself for fear of being called lazy and sometimes, I worry that if do less or rest more, I might actually be lazy. I have learned that my illnesses cause physical limitations and I can only give what I can give and nothing more. That doesn’t mean I am lazy. If anything, it means I do the best I can and often, it feels like I am giving more than others do.

Read more at http://www.diabeticconnect.com/diabetes-information-articles/general/1069-9-valuable-lessons-gained-from-chronic-illness#j8zFS1j0VgyXoYRd.99

Leave a Reply

