7 Lessons in 7 Years of Being Sick

on
Choose to find value in your struggle and never surrender to your fibromyalgia.

7 Lessons in 7 Years of Being Sick

A week after my youngest son was born, I awoke to all-over body pain and the inability to walk or use my hands. That was nearly seven years ago and I have learned a lot about being sick, especially as I face daily challenges both physical and emotional.

Here are 7 lessons I have learned in 7 years of being sick.

1. This is your life — you don’t get to give up

This is my life and I will make best of what I have been given. On good days, I can manage my morning routine with little trouble, including taking medication, stretching and getting to work on time. Other days, I want to give up and let my illnesses walk all over me, but an inner voice whispers, “Don’t you dare.” I try not to respond with “It’s not getting better,” or “I just want to give up.”

Giving up is easy, and finding a reason to keep going is difficult. Find those reasons why you need to keep going.

Read more at http://www.fibromyalgiaconnect.com/fibromyalgia-articles/459-7-lessons-in-7-years-of-being-sick?category=lifestyle

Leave a Reply

